Is Georgia a No-Fault State for Car Accident Cases?

To determine how compensation is allotted after a car accident, states either have “no-fault” or “fault-based” laws. In no-fault states, drivers who are injured in a car accident can file a claim with their own insurance company to recover compensation.In fault-based states, drivers must file a claim with the liable party’s insurance company to receive benefits after a car accident. It is crucial to be aware of what type of state you live in, as this will influence what you should do after a car accident and how your claim will proceed.

So, is Georgia a no-fault state or a fault-based state? It is a fault-based state. If you have been injured in a car accident, you must file a claim with the other driver’s insurance company in order to recover compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and other damages.

How Compensation is Provided to Injury Victims After a Car Accident in Georgia

After a car accident in Georgia, you will need to determine which party is at fault for your damages, provide evidence of their negligence, and file a claim with their insurance company. During the claims process, you will need to support your story of the other person’s fault. Additionally, you must demonstrate how their negligence contributed to your current damages and potentially any future expenses. Eventually, if your claim is successful, the at-fault driver’s insurance company will provide you with compensation that is meant to cover the damages caused by their policyholder’s negligence. If a third party is liable for your injuries, you may be able to bring a lawsuit against them for damages.

Contributory Negligence in Georgia

In Georgia, the principle of contributory negligence may apply to a car accident case. Contributory negligence accounts for the fact that multiple parties can be liable for accident damages. Every party who is involved in a collision will be assigned a percentage of fault, and their compensation can be reduced according to that amount.

For example, a person who was injured in a car accident may be partially at fault for their own injuries. They incurred $10,000 in damages, but their percentage of fault is determined as 30%. Therefore, their compensation would be reduced by that amount, to a total of $7,000. Compensation is not available to people who are over 50% at fault for an accident.

At Busch, Reed, Jones & Leeper, P.C., our attorneys are available to help you get started on your car accident claim. We will guide you through your case and will fight to get you the compensation you deserve.

For a free consultation with our legal team, send us a message or call (770) 629-0154.

Categories: